Sunday, May 8, 2011

Mother's Day 2011

On Mother's day Alex built us a planter box....
And we planted some flowers:

Tara helped seed the flax and daisies

and I put in the paper plants, mums and Shasta Daisies.

Paper flowers, they never seem to die.
I got my mother some Gol Gappas for lunch (after a VERY long time) and we also had some cake.
Posted by Picasa

Saturday, May 7, 2011

Tara's 4th birthday

(click on photos to enlarge)
After a whole year of practice baking, mummy has cake success!
After one year of practice baking and icing, we had a pretty good crop of chocolate cupakes with buttercreme icing and a Chocolate -Strawberry layer cake with buttercreme icing and chocolate chips
Yummy and good looking cake and cupcakes, no?


very excited to do the blowing...

(click on photos to enlarge)
Happy birthday Tara


helps daddy to cut the cake

rip and tear

(click on photos to enlarge)
some of her friends
this was a Busy birthday with a LOT of ACTIVE (crazy) 4 yr olds... we were soooo tired by the end.
Posted by Picasa

Easter 2011

Tara in her Easter dress

Opening her easter treats

Aunty Shae and Cousin Cary visisted
Posted by Picasa

Shaad: Bangla baby shower for Tina and baby to be

Tara gets some "make-up" done!
Tara wearing "bindis"
Clockwise from top right-Outer circle: Musuri-daal, paatisapta and gulab jamun, cauliflower curry,
salad, papad and munchies, fish curry.
On the plate, clockwise: Curried Okra fry, fish fry, cauliflower fry, onion fritters, potato shoestring fries (5 fried things) and rice .

All made pretty for baby
Alex feeds me
the other Mrs. Chakraborty on our street...
Mom and me
Posted by Picasa
there was lots of yummy food for "mummy" and lots of blessings from older ladies (my mom's friends).  unfortunately they could not fit my melon in any of the blouses or petticoats in order for me to wear a Sari, so here I was in a really old chudidar-suit (my favorite, but about 13 years old)

Practice Cake: lemon buttercreme cheese icing

Posted by Picasa

About Me

My photo
Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
I am a forty-something mom of two girls, an architect by profession and an avid sci-fi and My Little Pony fan. I love to cook, but only occasionally and am in the middle of rediscovering my heritage through food.